University of Georgia Press

There are presently no open calls for submissions.

The University of Georgia Press, established in 1938, is the oldest and largest book publisher in the state. We currently publish 60-70 new books a year and have a long history of publishing significant scholarship, creative and literary works, and books about the state and the region for general readers.

Flannery O'Connor Short Fiction Award

The University of Georgia Press is proud to be the publisher of the Flannery O'Connor Short Fiction Award series. More than seventy short fiction collections have appeared in the series, which was established to encourage gifted emerging writers by bringing their work to a national readership. The first prize-winning book was published in 1983; the award has since become an important proving ground for writers and a  showcase for the talent and promise that have brought about a  resurgence in the short story as a genre. Winners are selected through an annual competition. Past winners of the Flannery O'Connor Award for  Short Fiction include such widely read authors as Ha Jin, Antonya  Nelson, Rita Ciresi, and Mary Hood. For news and updates about the competition and past winners, visit the Flannery O'Connor Short Fiction  Award on Facebook. Edited by Lori Ostlund, the contest is open for submissions from April 1 to  May 31 each year.

Crux: The Georgia Series in Literary Nonfiction
Named for intersections, and for the heart of the matter, this series will publish literary nonfiction by diverse writers working in a variety of modes, including personal and lyric essay, memoir, cultural meditation, and literary journalism. Books are intended for general readers, including writers, teachers of writing, and students, and will be both intelligent and accessible. Engagement with the world, dedication to craft, precision, and playfulness with form and language are valued. As the series develops, it will include non-American writers and experiences.

Edited by Nicole Walker, the series aims to publish two to four new titles annually. Walker is the author of Processed Meats: Essays on Food, Flesh and Navigating Disaster, Sustainability: A Love Story, and the collaborative collection The After-Normal: Brief, Alphabetical Essays on a Changing Planet. She has previously published the books Where the Tiny Things AreEggMicrograms, Quench Your Thirst with Salt, and This Noisy Egg. She edited for Bloomsbury the essay collections Science of Story with Sean Prentiss and Bending Genre: Essays on Creative Nonfiction with Margot Singer. She is the co-president of NonfictioNOW and is the recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts award and a noted author in Best American Essays. Her work has been most recently published in the New York TimesLongreads, and Ploughshares, among other places. She teaches at Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff, AZ.

The Georgia Poetry Prize
In partnership with the Georgia Institute of Technology and the University of Georgia, the University of Georgia Press has established the Georgia Poetry Prize, a national competition that celebrates excellence in poetry. Supported by the Bruce and Georgia McEver Fund for the Arts and Environment, the Georgia Poetry Prize is open to unpublished, original collections of poems written in English by residents of North America. Winners are selected through an annual competition. The contest is open for submissions from October 1 to November 30. The prize has been established through a generous gift from Bruce McEver, a graduate of Georgia Tech and member of the Advisory Council of the University of Georgia Press, in memory of his late wife, Georgia McEver.

University of Georgia Press